Find out about ‘Fynbos’


For those who missed the kick off of our voyage of discovery around South Africa webinar series
Seeking with New Eyes is a visual journey that gives you a glimpse of diverse landscapes in South Africa. You’ll get a taste of the country’s natural beauty, resilience, socialbility, and initiatives that are sparking hope.

We’re thrilled to offer you the chance to armchair travel – and interact with crackerjack speakers, virtually. 
Over the next six sessions, you’ll meet  a variety of fascinating people who’ll take you down an array of paths … vibrant art & culture, contested history, culinary creativity, unique archaeology.

Coming up in Session #2 is The Cape’s spectacular botanical landscape.
Three renowned ”green” experts will show you what makes this the world’s richest natural garden.
Adam Harrrower, the horticulturalist from Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden in Cape Town
Ernst van Jarsveld, the master botanist at Babylonstoren Estate in the Cape Winelands
Sean Privett, the conservation director of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, near Aughulus on the south eastern coast.

Find out about fynbos – which is the South African/Dutch word for the unique vegetation type of the Cape Floral Kingdom. This Kingdom is one of only six in the world. It’s the smallest, the richest and the very hottest of biodiversity hotpsots.  

Join us: It’s spring time here, and we are bursting to share our botanical bounty
Topic: Gardens 
Date: Thursday October 08
Time:
South Africa at 8PM/Central African Time (CAT);  UK (-1) 7PM;  East Coast (- 6) 2PM;  West Coast (-9) 11AM; Hawaii (-12) 8AM.
Can’t make this time? No problem. A link will be made available the next day for an extra 10 days to ticket holders who can’t take part in the live event.

Top image of sunrise over Cape Town is courtesy Alistair Daynes of ReWild Africa, a speaker in session 1: The Big Picture 
Bottom image is Kirstenbosch. Yellow pincushion (Leucospermum) part of the Protea family

, , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.